* Review: Angel War by Philip Dodd

Angel War by Philip Dodd

Cover Rating: ★★☆☆☆
Overall Rating: ★★★☆☆
My Favourite Chapter: Chapter 23- ‘Eden’
Would I recommend? ★★★☆☆

“Pattern broken, orders forgotten, bands of his rebel angel servants fled before them, to his dismay, and cowered away from their path. As those who retreated gathered thickly around him, he heard many of them rage in agony against the thought of their defeat, which was not to his liking, nor that their eyes no longer shone with the arrogance of certain victory.”

                              Available for purchase from Amazon

About
From an early age, Azel, the Prince of the White Castle of the Angels of Light, plans what he calls his great rebellion against the Father. After his self transformation into a four legged, scaled beast, he names himself the Dragon. At the head of his rebel angel army and his dragon flocks, he brings war to the angel lands. His intention is to dethrone the Father and rule in his place. Khem, the Child of the White Mountain, vows upon his Silver Sword to be his slayer. The lonely, perilous path of the dragon slayer, he takes. At its end, he stands alone, to challenge the Father’s foe to combat.

Review
I’ll start by saying that at 536 pages long, this book requires a lot of time, concentration and dedication. I’ll add to that by saying, it’s worth it. Teamed with a steady pace, this book is packed full of beautiful description and captivating action from cover to cover.
Dodd states in the acknowledgements that the King James version of The Holy Bible was the main inspiration for the book, but don’t let that fool you into thinking that is solely a biblical story. Although it is indeed laced with interpretations of stories from both the old and new testament, you need not know any background of this as the imagination of the story holds strong and true throughout.
This isn’t something that can be read over a couple of sittings, in fact it took me a few months to finish it (and I consider myself a fast reader,) but I found myself needing a break every so often before returning to the book. This isn’t necessarily due to the length of the book, more so the content. It takes a while to fully absorb the characters and their surroundings, and I find it important to take time away and order it in my head so I can fully grasp what is happening within the story before returning to read more. This isn’t a negative attribute, if you like a book that takes time and thought and takes place as more of a journey than a story, this would be perfect for you.

Overall
I was really torn as to what ‘star’ rating I should give this book. It’s so beautifully and thoughtfully written, but it’s not something I’d pick up again and I’m not too sure if I would recommend it to anyone. I think it’s simply a case of ‘it’s not quite my cup of tea,’ and this  bares no reflection on the book itself. Having said that, it’s a book I am glad to have read and it left me with a lot to think about after completing it.

* Book was sent for free in exchange for an honest review. 

Leave a Reply

