* Review: Truth Be Told: Adam Becomes Audrey by Alexandra Bogdanovic

Truth Be Told: Adam Becomes Audrey by Alexandra Bogdanovic 

Cover Rating: ★★★☆☆
Overall Rating: ★★★★☆
My Favourite Chapter: Chapter 10
Would I recommend? ★★★★☆

“That really sucks,” I would inevitably say after listening to their tale of woe. “But I bet I’ve got a story that tops it.”

Available for purchase from Amazon

 

 

 

About
Chastity Bono is now Chaz. Her decision to “become” a man made headlines around the world, but she is not alone. Transgender men and women frequently appear on television talk shows and reality programs to share their stories. By doing so, they inevitably get the attention they seek, but not necessarily the kind of attention they want. While some come forth in an effort to promote tolerance, acceptance and understanding in mainstream society, their decision to live as or in some cases have surgery to become – the opposite gender often sparks curiosity and more visceral reactions born out of ignorance. But this is the other side of the story. Truth Be Told: Adam Becomes Audrey is a tragedy, a comedy and a love story. It is my story. In vivid detail, I recall how I met, fell in love with and married the man of my dreams, only to find that he self-identified as and wanted to become a woman. Read what happened after I learned the truth. Originally from the New York City suburbs, Alexandra Bogdanovic is an award-winning reporter based in Connecticut. Her next book is based on her father’s life as a staunch anti-Communist and political refugee in post-World War II Europe.

Review
This book tells the story of Alexandra and her discovery of her husband’s hidden secret. Written from a stance that I didn’t quite expect, I fully appreciated the attention to detail and the need to bring the reader into the situation; achieved through the use of an almost informal tone, openness and the abundance of description.
With a clearly interesting life anyway, I took more away than ‘just’ having read a book about how a woman recovers after learning the truth about her husband. At times, I felt myself so captured and eager to turn the next page that it was as though I was reading a piece of fiction.
As I’ve said already, this wasn’t what I was expecting from the book. If, like me, you appreciate an honest story where the small details truly matter, this is the book for you. If you’re looking for something a bit more fast-paced, you’re looking in the wrong place. Given how captivating the writing style is, the pace of the book really doesn’t matter. In fact, it is quite jumpy in places; with vast detail given in some areas and very little in others, but as a non-fiction book this just reflects on the fact that is a true life story.

Overall 
This was a book that I read from cover to cover; partially due to the length of it (160 pages) but also due to the ease of reading. The writing style, for me, was definitely the shining point of this book and made me want to carry on. If you enjoy non-fiction, I would highly recommend this book.

* Book was sent for free in exchange for an honest review. 

Leave a Reply

